NINE West Country swimmers have been named in a 25-strong British squad for this summer’s World Aquatics Championships in Gwangju, South Korea.

The event will take place between July 12-28 and British Swimming named their team just three days after the trials in Glasgow ended.

Bath-based James Guy, Tom Dean, Calum Jarvis, Cameron Kurle, Georgina Coates, Siobhan-Marie O’Connor and Jessica Fullalove are all in the squad, along with Plymouth Leander’s Ben Proud and Laura Stephens.

Proud, Jarvis and Guy all returned with gold medals from the last World Championships, while Stephens will be making her debut at global long course championships.

Commenting on the selections for the 2019 edition, British Swimming’s national performance director Chris Spice, said: “We had another great British Championships in Glasgow where we saw some exceptional individual performances from our established group of senior swimmers.

“In particular Duncan Scott, Adam Peaty, James Wilby, Max Litchfield and Ross Murdoch continued to show their class.  And of course, who could forget the brilliant 1500m freestyle swim from Dan Jervis that had everybody on their feet and really set the championships alight.

“The selectors were also pleased to see that some younger athletes have grabbed the opportunity that we gave them at last year’s Europeans to step up and make this team. We saw superb lifetime bests from Luke Greenbank, Tom Dean, Anna Hopkin and Jess Fullalove, that really built on those performances from last year. As we look towards Tokyo, the challenge now for the whole team is to move this on in the summer and swim a season’s best under the spotlights in Gwangju.”

With a top 12 finish in relay events securing a spot at next summer’s Olympic Games, Spice added:

“In terms of our discretionary selections, this year a key consideration was the need to qualify our relays for the Tokyo 2020 Olympics, whilst resting those relay athletes that could have large schedules in Gwangju.

“Having said that, the stand out swim from this category was Laura Stephens in the 200m butterfly, who just missed the World’s individual consideration time by 0.05 per cent, so she fully deserves her inclusion.

“Now that the team is finalised we will head to a team preparation camp in June, with all athletes and staff getting together for two legs of the Mare Nostrum series in Canet and Barcelona. We have also been fortunate to secure our pre-World’s holding camp in Yokohama this year, which will also form a dress rehearsal for our preparations for Tokyo 2020.”


Adam Peaty (England) National Centre Loughborough

Dan Jervis (Wales) – Swansea University

Max Litchfield (England) – National Centre Loughborough

Duncan Scott (Scotland) – University of Stirling

James Wilby (England) National Centre Loughborough

Ben Proud (England) Plymouth Leander

Ross Murdoch (Scotland) – University of Stirling

Luke Greenbank (England) – National Centre Loughborough

James Guy (England) – National Centre Bath

Georgia Davies (Wales) – Loughborough University

Alys Thomas (Wales) – Swansea University

Molly Renshaw (England) – National Centre Loughborough

Freya Anderson (England) – Ellesmere College

Siobhan-Marie O’Connor (England) – National Centre Bath

Aimee Willmott (England) – University of Stirling

Tom Dean (England) – National Centre Bath

Calum Jarvis (Wales) – National Centre Bath

Cameron Kurle (Wales) – National Centre Bath

Nick Pyle (England) – Newcastle

Holly Hibbott (England) – Stockport Metro

Georgia Coates (England) – National Centre Bath

Scott McLay (Scotland) – University of Stirling

Jess Fullalove (England) – National Centre Bath

Anna Hopkin (England) – Ealing

Laura Stephens (England) – Plymouth Leander


Buy the print edition every Sunday or subscribe to our online edition HERE.