CORNWALL international pole vaulter Molly Caudery has been named on the British Athletics’ Futures Programme for 2018-2019.

A total of 26 athletes have been selected for the Olympic Futures Programme, with 24 chosen for the Paralympic Futures Programme.

The programme, supported by Nike, aims to highlight athletes that have the potential to win medals at future Olympic and Paralympic Games, World and European Championships, and those that have the potential to progress onto the World Class Programme (WCP) in the next cycle.

The programme runs from December 1, 2018 to November 30, 2019 and has been redeveloped from previous years, with the focus on supporting aspects of the athletes/coaches 2018-19 Individual Athlete Plan (IAP) and, through a series of camps and experiences, provide athletes with the opportunities to develop the skills and abilities required for senior international success.

Athletes and coaches invited onto the programme will be assigned a British Athletics Point of contact, whose role is to understand where the programme can support and add value, and identify conditions necessary to make progress throughout the year.

Caudery said: “Always so grateful for the support of BA (British Athletics), can’t wait for the 2019 season.”

Athletes Supported by the British Athletics Olympic Futures Programme 2019

Sprints & Hurdles

Alicia Barrett (Toni Minichiello; Chesterfield) – 100m Hurdles

Sam Bennett (Steven Surety; Basildon) – 110m Hurdles

Maya Bruney (John Blackie; Blackheath & Bromley) – 200m

Alastair Chalmers (James Hillier; Guernsey) – 400m Hurdles

Charlie Dobson (Benke Blomkvist; Colchester Harriers) – 200m

Jona Efoloko (Michael Afilaka; Sale Harriers Manchester) – 200m

Hannah Williams (Glyn Hawkes; Herts Phoenix) – 400m


Isabelle Boffey (Luke Gunn; Enfield & Haringey) – 800m

Alex Botterill (Andrew Henderson; City of York) – 800m

Max Burgin (Ian Burgin; Halifax) – 800m

Jake Heyward (James Thie; Cardiff) – 1500m

Keely Hodgkinson (Margaret Galvin; Leigh) – 800m

Markhim Lonsdale (Crook & District) – 800m

Canaan Solomon (Richard Thurston; Woodford Green & Essex Ladies) – 800m

Thomas Staines (Matthew Morris; Colorado State University) – 800m


George Armstrong (Zane Duquemin; Newham & Essex Beagles) – Discus

Lewis Byng (Stuart Carlaw; Stratford-upon-Avon) – Shot

Jake Norris (Paul Dickenson; WSEH) – Hammer Throw

Divine Oladipo (John Hillier; Blackheath & Bromley) – Shot/Discus

James Tomlinson (Paul Jensen, Pembrokeshire) – Discus

Serena Vincent (Bronwin Carter; City of Portsmouth) – Shot

Jumps & Combined Events

Molly Caudery (Stuart Caudery; Cornwall AC) – Pole Vault

Lucy Hadaway (Matt Barton; City of York) – Long Jump

Holly Mills (Laura Turner-Alleyne/Frank Attoh; Andover) – Combined Events

Jade O’Dowda (Toni Minichiello; Oxford City) – Combined Events

Dominic Ogbechie (Marius Guei/Carol Jackson; Highgate Harriers) – High Jump


British Athletics Paralympic Pathway Athletes 2019


Amar Aichoun (Clarence Callender; Thames Valley) T38 100m

Joe Brazier (Richard Chiassaro; Harlow) T34 100m

John Bridge (Matthew Clowes; DSW Para Academy) T47 400m

James Freeman (Jenny Archer; Weir Archer Academy) T33 100m

Bulbul Hussain (Steve Peaty; Victoria Park & Tower Hamlets) T51 100m

Harri Jenkins (Anthony Hughes; DSW Para Academy) T33 100m *

Simran Kaur (Nick Harris; Bristol & West) T46 100m

India Oates (Helen Bowles; Darlington) T35 100m

Ross Paterson (John Kinder; Red Star) T38 400m

Ali Smith (Paul MacGregor; Guildford & Godalming) T38 400m *

Kirsty Taylor (Christian Malcolm; DSW Para Academy) T44 100m

Bethany Tucker (Mark Lodge; South Glos) T37 100m

Eve Walsh-Dann (Roger Sexton; North Down) T38 100m *

Thomas Young (Joe McDonnell; Charnwood) T38 100m *


Owen Miller (Steve Doig; Fife) T20 1500m

Luke Nuttall (Alison Wyeth/Vince Wilson; Charnwood) T46 1500m

Hannah Taunton (Charlotte Fisher; Taunton) T20 1500m


Ed Clifton (Mike Wood; British Wheelchair Athletics Association) F56 Shot Put

Bethan Griffiths (Carolyn Franks; Cheltenham) F32 Club Throw

Taz Nicholls (Alison O’Riordan; Shaftesbury Barnet) – F44 Discus

Harrison Walsh (Anthony Hughes; DSW Para Academy) F44 Discus


Jordan Andrew (Matt Grainger; Newham & Essex Beagles) T20 Long Jump

Holly Durbridge (Denis Costello; City of Norwich) T20 Long Jump

Callum Gardiner (Paul Patten; Blackheath & Bromley) T20 Long Jump



This article first appeared in the Independent. To get the latest articles when they appear, buy the print edition every Sunday or subscribe to our online edition HERE.