Exeter & District League badminton round-up...

QUEENS A retained their Exeter & District League Badminton League Division One title without having to step on court after Ringswell A lost their final match to Exeter B.

Queens had only needed one point in their final fixture to mathematically secure the crown, but were handed the title when Exeter B beat Ringswell A 7-2.

Sam Owens/Katie Scotter were unbeaten for Exeter, as Nigel Osborne/Erin Whitten won two rubbers for Ringswell which was enough to finish second. Queens A then were given a walkover against St Leonards A who were unable to field a team and were already consigned to finishing bottom.

Queens B had already won Division 2A, but just like in the top division, Ringswell finished second. Despite four of the nine rubbers going to three sets, Ringswell B beat Otter Vale 9-0 before doing just about enough, despite a 5-4 loss to Sidmouth A, to finish second by three points. John Carter/Rachel Irish were unbeaten for Sidmouth A while Martyn Schmidt/Julie Frost won two rubbers.

At the other end of the table Otter Vale A had needed to win 9-0 in the relegation decider against St Leonards B, but slipped to a 7-2 loss. Brian Deem/Heather Rake and Dave Williamson/Teresa Simic scored points for Otter Vale, but unbeaten Sam Maltby/Sue Banks and Andy Rowe/Nikki Anslow secured safety for St Leonards, while Rob Price scored his first point of the season, teaming with Rachel Dare to win 17-21,21-17, 21-17 against Dan Clark/Jo Smith.

St Leonards C retained their Division 2B title with a 5-4 win over Honiton. Chulmleigh’s 8-1 win over Otter Vale B had left the Exeter-side needing to win their last match to secure the title, and the match went down to the final rubber.

But Ian Jameson/Anne Trevanna beat Sam Prangley/Sue Fallows 21-13, 21-18 to give them the title after Dan Corbey/Sharon May had won all their three rubbers.

In the other fixture James Newcombe/Grace Williams completed a perfect season of 24 wins out of 24 for Sidmouth B, but it wasn’t enough as they slipped to a 5-4 loss to Otter Vale B that left them in fourth place. Tim Hall/Sue O’Brien, Andy O’Brien/Maxine Sweetman and Nigel German/Anne Drury all contributed points for Otter Vale.

This article first appeared in the Independent. To get the latest articles when they appear, buy the print edition every Sunday or subscribe to our online edition HERE.