Perry Street League Challenge Cup Final ends in convincing win for Chard United...

Barrington 2 Chard United 8

Perry Street League Challenge Cup Final (at Forton Rangers FC)

Chard United shocked red hot favourites Barrington to land the Challenge cup for the first time in the club’s 34-year history.

Chard manager Paul Macklin and his team certainly didn’t underestimate the task ahead: “Going into the game as the underdogs, despite a run of 10 without defeat,

was a great reason for us to prove a point. We knew it was going to be a hard game against a very good Barrington side so the plan was to attack,” said Macklin.

Chard opened the deadlock early on through Jamie Brown only to concede a penalty which Scott Jennings, who scored in Merriott Rovers ‘victory in the same competition back in 2003, tucked away shortly after. But this signalled a period of domination for Macklin’s side as Brown netted his second, John Furnish made it 3-1 before Man-of-the-Match Brown completed a well deserved hat trick making it 4-1 half time.

The second half saw Barrington attempt to assert some dominance on the midfield but a fantastic free kick 30 yards out from Brad Davies made it 5-1 and all but killed the game off.

Brown got his fourth and Dan Potter made it 7-1, before Barrington scored their second through Carl Lazenby with 10 mins to go. But Jamie Brown was finished and fittingly had the final say to make it a final score of 8-2.

This was certainly a stunning scoreline as Barrington subsided to their heaviest defeat for seven years, but they do at least have the knowledge that they can retain their Premier Division title with victory against Winsham United on Thursday. Chard have enjoyed a fine season and are on set to complete their highest ever finish in the top division.

Squads (alphabetical)

Barrington: Matt Brown,Tom Butler, Adam Cox, Guy Dare, Sam Hodkinson, Scott Jennings, Carl Lazenby, Ash Lock, Rhudi Martin, Alex McGowan, Paul Oliver, Sam Spurway, James Thompson, Mike Towill, Andrew Whitefield, Mike Whitefield.

Chard United: Jamie Brown, Jamie Cox, Brad Davies, John Furnish,Lee Hames, Alex Ives, Shane Mears, Wayne Mears, Scott Miller, Tom Newport, dan Potter, dan Scriven, Matt Sweet, Darren Wells-Burr.

This article first appeared in the Independent. To get the latest articles when they appear, buy the print edition every Sunday or subscribe to our online edition HERE.