EXETER Chiefs’ Henry Slade was on target again as England continued their good form in the 2019 Six Nations.

After beating Ireland 32-20 in Dublin last weekend, where Slade scored twice, England hammered France 44-8 at Twickenham on Sunday.

Eddie Jones’ side claimed six tries against France, with Jonny May scoring three of them inside the first 30 minutes. Slade scored the all-important fourth to give the hosts a 30-8 half-time lead. Then after the break, England got a penalty try and Owen Farrell also touched down to go with three conversions and two penalties.

Exeter players Ben Moon, Jack Nowell and Luke Cowan-Dickie all came on the second half.

Despite four of England’s tries coming in the first half, England head coach Eddie Jones said the second half performance pleased him the most.

“In those games where you get the bonus point early it is easy to cruise through the game,” said Jones. “But we stuck to our game  and kept good focus.

“The second half I thought our performance was even better. Even though we didn’t score as many points our focus and our discipline to keep France scoreless I thought was outstanding. “

However, Jones believes there is still more to come from his team.

“We had a quick chat and feel we left 15-20 points on the field so there is a lot more in this team and we understand that and we are committed to being the very best we can be. When we get back together on Wednesday we will start the process again of how we can improve.”

England: 15. Elliot Daly (Wasps), 14. Chris Ashton (Sale Sharks), 13. Henry Slade (Exeter Chiefs), 12. Manu Tuilagi (Leicester Tigers), 11. Jonny May (Leicester Tigers), 10. Owen Farrell (Saracens), 9. Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers) 1. Mako Vunipola (Saracens), 2. Jamie George (Saracens), 3. Kyle Sinckler (Harlequins), 4. Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints), 5. George Kruis (Saracens), 6. Mark Wilson (Newcastle Falcons), 7. Tom Curry (Sale Sharks), 8. Billy Vunipola (Saracens

Replacements: 16. Luke Cowan-Dickie (Exeter Chiefs), 17. Ben Moon (Exeter Chiefs), 18. Dan Cole (Leicester Tigers), 19. Joe Launchbury (Wasps), 20. Nathan Hughes (Wasps), 21. Dan Robson (Wasps), 22. George Ford (Leicester Tigers), 23. Jack Nowell (Exeter Chiefs)




Buy the print edition every Sunday or subscribe to our online edition HERE.