A HOST of West Country youngsters have been named in the England squad for this U18 Six Nations Festival which starts on Thursday.

The festival is being hosted by England Rugby at Hartpury University and College will see three sets of fixtures at Gillman’s Ground, Sixways Stadium and Kingsholm.

England will face Wales on Saturday, April 13, before matches against Ireland (Wednesday, April 17) and France (Sunday, April 21) with entry free at all three venues.

England U18s are led by pathway performance coach Jim Mallinder, and consultant coaches Jonathan Fisher, Mark Luffman and Sean Marsden for the season.

Mallinder said: “Selecting this group has been a gradual process, we took a portion of this squad to South Africa in August and along with players who have impressed us over the course of the season through performances at school and their academies we have a picked a strong 26 for the festival.

“This will be a unique experience for these players where they will play three international fixtures over the course of two weeks while staying in camp together. We’ve had a one-off fixture against Scotland with the majority of this group but this will be different as we have the players for longer so we want to build as a team and them to develop as players.

“This will be a different environment, the players will be living alongside their opponents, playing against them while also experiencing a number of off-field activities with their peers which will be fascinating for both players and coaches.”

England U18 Six Nations Festival squad

Orlando Bailey – Bath Rugby (Beechen Cliff School)
Jack Bates – Bristol Bears (SGS College)
Fin Baxter – Harlequins (Wellington College)
Harvey Beaton – Saracens (Sutton Valence)
Archie Benson – Gloucester Rugby (Dean Close School)
Joe Browning – Leicester Tigers (Denstone College)
Joe Carpenter – Yorkshire Carnegie (Woodhouse Grove)
Jack Clement – Gloucester Rugby (Cheltenham College)
Phil Cokanasiga – London Irish (St Pauls College)
Tom Curtis – Sale Sharks (Sedbergh School)
Harry Fry – Gloucester Rugby (Hartpury College)
Josh Gray – Gloucester Rugby (Dean Close School)
Luke Green – London Irish (St Paul’s Catholic College)
Louis Hillman-Cooper (Gloucester Rugby Cheltenham College)
George Martin – Leicester Tigers (Brooksby Melton College)
Nahum Merigan – Bath Rugby (Beechen Cliff School)
Raphael Quirke – Sale Sharks (St Ambrose College)
Ewan Richards – Bath Rugby (Millfield School)
Sam Riley – Harlequins (St George’s Weybridge)
Tom Roebuck – Sale Sharks (Wirral Grammar)
John Stewart – Bath Rugby (Beechen Cliff School)
Ollie Stonham – Saracens (Felsted School)
Will Trenholm – Harlequins (Cranleigh School)
Jack van Poortvliet – Leicester Tigers (Oakham School)
Jude Williams – Wasps (Caterham School)
George Worboys – Bath Rugby (Beechen Cliff)

Buy the print edition every Sunday or subscribe to our online edition HERE.