Winners all round at Gloucestershire

There were happy faces all round as the Gloucestershire Lawn Tennis Association announced their own British Tennis Awards county winners.

Trophies were presented at the annual general meeting at Oxstalls Sports Park by Louise Hunt, who has a long list of national and international tennis successes from 2009 to the present day including competing in the 2012 and 2016 Paralympic Games.

As well as being a full-time athlete Hunt works with several charitable organisations, including the Dan Maskell Tennis Trust, all aimed at encouraging and mentoring the disabled, particularly the young, in pursuing their sporting aims and their careers through involvement with sport.

Elspeth Harding, from Frampton Tennis Club, was the ‘Volunteer of the Year’, heralded as an ambassador for tennis donating much of her time to the club.

Chalford TC’s Conor Brady, a 17- year-old devoting energy and enthusiasm to promoting his club, was the ‘Young Volunteer of the Year’ while Alec Davidson, from Oxstalls Tennis Park, celebrated the ‘Outstanding Achievement Award’ and the Chris Reid Trophy for services to tennis spanning 54 years.

‘Club of the Year’ went to Cirencester Tennis Club and the ‘Community Award’ to the East Gloucestershire Club for their work with Montpellier and Pittville to provide Tennis in the Park.

The ‘Education Award’ was handed to Balcarras School for working with Charlton Park Tennis Place while the ‘Disability Award’ went to Oxstalls Tennis Ability, who provide an inclusive and social en- vironment for many players led by ‘Coach of the Year’ Adam Toulson, who “devotes his time and energy to making this programme happen”.

‘Competition of the Year’ went to Frampton Tennis Club for their annual club championships.

Coaches Rachael Wintle (Lydney TC), Simon Fliatrault (Beckford TC) and Esther Curtis (East Gloucester- shire) were all recognised for their work in the county and at club level.

Meanwhile Gloucestershire Lawn Tennis Association presented their own gongs. ‘Special Achievement Award’ was happily picked up by Mark Peer from Nailsworth Tennis Club for services to his club and the County League.

Mary Eyre Junior Player awards went to Charlotte Russell (David Lloyd and Oxstalls Tennis Park) for outstanding results including gain- ing her first ITF ranking points, and Sammy Vrabtchev (East Gloucester- shire), for his results and dedication to tennis.

Following the AGM and presentations, Hunt handed out trophies to the divisional winners of the county’s Summer Tennis League which involves more than 500 players from dozens of clubs, a highlight of Gloucestershire tennis.

The awards are a joint initiative between the Lawn Tennis Associa- tion, the Tennis Foundation and all 40 county national tennis associa- tions.

LTA county winners will progress to regional finals with a chance of winning through to national finals and a £5,000 facility grant prize.

This article first appeared in the Independent. To get the latest articles when they appear, buy the print edition every Sunday or subscribe to our online edition HERE.